Being happy – getting closer to the magic recipe – Jeff, Bronnie and Gretchen added up

This week LinkedIn has topped a news story from Inc where Jeff Haden lists 10 things that you should stop doing if you want to get happier.

That reminded me of Bronnie Ware, the nurse who worked with palliative home care for many years where she took notes of the regrets expressed by dying people. Her book “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying – A Life Transformed by the Dearly Departing” is published in various languages during 2012.

And then I came to think of an article I read a long time ago about a women who had methodically tested all kinds of things in order to find a way to get happy: Gretchen Rubin. She started The Happiness Project, and she also wrote a book called Happier at Home. Since she tried all kinds of things and theories (Dalai Lama, Oprah, you name it), her advice contains a lot of things that seem easy in theory but hard in practice. Nonetheless, she has formulated three things that make a big difference.

Now, I’m thinking that if we combine Jeff’s list of 10 and Bronnie’s list of 5 and Gretchen’s list of 3, we should get a fairly good life map to follow. Also, the bullets sum up to 18 which is a nice number.

Jeff’s 10 don’ts:

  1. Blaming
  2. Impressing
  3. Clinging
  4. Interrupting
  5. Whining
  6. Controlling
  7. Criticizing
  8. Preaching
  9. Dwelling
  10. Fearing

http://www.inc.com/jeff-haden/how-to-be-happier-work-10-things-stop-doing.html

Bronnie’s top 5 regret list:

  1.  I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4.  I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bronnie-ware/top-5-regrets-of-the-dyin_b_1220965.html

Gretchen’s list of 3 things that make you happier:

  1. Seeing more friends
  2. Sleeping more
  3. Singing more

http://www.svd.se/nyheter/idagsidan/psykologi/hon-testade-allt-for-att-bli-lycklig_4837117.svd

Leave a Reply

